Skip to main content

Heritage sector recognised in the New Year’s Honours List

By January 6, 2022December 7th, 2023No Comments

While it’s understandably been a year of honours dominated by those receiving them for services to healthcare and the Covid-19 response, the heritage sector has not gone unrewarded.

We are particularly delighted to learn that Darren Barker, managing director at Great Yarmouth Preservation Trust has been awarded an MBE for his services to heritage.  Darren has shared his knowledge and experiences with fellow Heritage Trust Network members at many of our events over the years and it’s fantastic to see that his achievements are now being more widely acknowledged.

There were also a number of other awards in recognition to services to heritage and / or culture.  These include:

Dame Commander of the British Empire: Diane Lees (Director General, Imperial War Museum)

CBE: Sir Laurence Magnus (Chair, Historic England), Katherine Moore (Chief Executive, English Heritage)

Officers of the Order of the British Empire: Aonghus Gordon (trustee, Ruskin Mill Trust), Andrew Lovett (Chair, AIM)

MBE: Sally Embree (Head of Technical Conservation Team, Historic England), Christopher Moore (Vice Chair, Bletchley Park Trust), Emma Simpson (Director, Simpson Brickwork Conservation Ltd), Bharatkumar Sisodia (for services to culture, heritage and community in Greater Manchester)

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire: John Bramham (Chair, The Friends of Old Christ Church), Alexis Page (Head of Safety and Risk, English Heritage.)

OBE: Philippa Charles (Director, Garfield Weston), Carol Lake (Cultural Recovery Board)

Congratulations to all and apologies for anyone we may have inadvertently missed.


Leave a Reply